This site has been archived. The work goes on at Full Fact.

Blog

Nigel Hawkes :: Fri 21st Oct 2011

Pie Chart
Image

Careless talk costs credibility

Could somebody take Steve McCabe MP aside and quietly explain to him what statistical significance means?

Read More

Comments (4) :: Last comment Thu 3rd Nov 2011

Nigel Hawkes :: Wed 5th Oct 2011

Pie Chart
Image

Comments (0) :: Last comment Wed 5th Oct 2011

Nigel Hawkes :: Wed 28th Sep 2011

Pie Chart
Image

Scotland’s drinking habits exaggerated

There is a member’s debate at 5.30 pm today in the Scottish Parliament, on a motion proposed by Scottish Nationalist MSP James Dornan, (pictured) the  member for Glasgow Cathcart.

Read More

Comments (2) :: Last comment Tue 4th Oct 2011

Nigel Hawkes :: Tue 27th Sep 2011

Pie Chart
Image

New ONS website hits choppy water

The Office for National Statistics relaunched its website on August 28, after years of criticism of the old one. But alas, all has not gone entirely to plan.

Read More

Comments (2) :: Last comment Fri 30th Sep 2011

David Lipsey :: Wed 14th Sep 2011

Pie Chart
Image

Comments (0) :: Last comment Wed 14th Sep 2011

Nigel Hawkes :: Tue 13th Sep 2011

Pie Chart
Image

Chancellor urged to think again about pre-release access

The prospect of retirement from the UK Statistics Authority (see previous post) does not seem to have diminished Sir Michal Scholar’s willingness to lock horns with ministers.

Read More

Comments (0) :: Last comment Tue 13th Sep 2011

Nigel Hawkes :: Tue 13th Sep 2011

Pie Chart
Image

Comments (1) :: Last comment Tue 13th Sep 2011

David Lipsey :: Thu 1st Sep 2011

Pie Chart
Image

Discrediting polls

Opinion polls make powerful news. In a democracy, weight is given to the views of the people.

Read More

Comments (1) :: Last comment Thu 1st Sep 2011

Nigel Hawkes :: Thu 11th Aug 2011

Pie Chart
Image

Comments (1) :: Last comment Tue 22nd Nov 2011

Nigel Hawkes :: Thu 28th Jul 2011

Pie Chart
Image

Hold the front page: porn stars get STIs

Here’s a surprise: rates of sexually-transmitted diseases are high among performers in the adult film industry.

Read More

Comments (2) :: Last comment Wed 3rd Aug 2011