This site has been archived. The work goes on at Full Fact.

alcohol

Nigel Hawkes :: Thu, 31/05/2012 - 16:57

Pie Chart

Fancy a hangover? Read Appendix G

Nigel Hawkes :: Tue, 29/05/2012 - 10:45

Building icon

Changes to alcohol statistics promised

On Thursday the NHS Information Centre for health and social care will publish its annual compendium Alcohol in England. It will be here.

Nigel Hawkes :: Mon, 21/05/2012 - 15:22

Building icon

Is one UK death in eight really caused by drinking?

Nigel Hawkes :: Wed, 18/04/2012 - 14:11

Building icon

Is drink really as cheap as chips?

Nigel Hawkes :: Wed, 04/04/2012 - 09:52

Pie Chart

Alcohol: a guide for perplexed MPs

Nigel Hawkes :: Thu, 23/02/2012 - 14:09

Building icon

Drink death estimates trimmed

Nigel Hawkes :: Wed, 15/02/2012 - 18:04

Building icon

PM exaggerates cost of alcohol to the NHS

David Cameron’s speech today on the cost to the NHS of the misuse of alcohol makes an important break with past claims on the subject.

Nigel Hawkes :: Wed, 08/02/2012 - 14:39

Building icon

Squeezing Scottish drinkers until the pips squeak

Nigel Hawkes :: Thu, 26/01/2012 - 11:28

Building icon

Alcohol-related hospital admissions set to tumble

Headlines asserting that hospital admissions attributable to alcohol have doubled since 2004 to over a million a year could soon be just a nasty memory.

Nigel Hawkes :: Tue, 13/12/2011 - 12:20

Building icon

Go on, have another

It’s easy to mock social scientists, but sometimes they do lay themselves open to it.