This site has been archived. The work goes on at Full Fact.

USA

Nigel Hawkes :: Thu, 15/03/2012 - 13:57

Building icon

Cut red meat? We already have

Nigel Hawkes :: Tue, 06/03/2012 - 12:14

Building icon

How to clear up more murders than are actually committed

Nigel Hawkes :: Fri, 13/01/2012 - 16:22

Pie Chart

Percentagewise, it’s a common error

If a price doubles, is it 200 per cent higher? No, it’s 100 per cent higher.

Nigel Hawkes :: Fri, 29/04/2011 - 09:10

Pie Chart

Never let the facts put you off

The British media hasn’t picked up on the tale of Senator Jon Kyl (pictured) who during budget debates in the US Senate earlier this month about the healthcare provider Planned Parent

Nigel Hawkes :: Wed, 30/03/2011 - 17:13

Building icon

Disease clusters: chasing after shadows

Clusters of anything – suicides, birth defects, diseases – are a magnet to journalists.

Nigel Hawkes :: Thu, 17/03/2011 - 17:33

Building icon

Would the last thin American turn out the light?

Is obesity in the United States going up, down, or nowhere much at all?

Nigel Hawkes :: Mon, 21/02/2011 - 16:10

Pie Chart

Have a heart!

American cardiologists are aghast at the results of a survey of 1,933 people to measure how many matched all seven co

Nigel Hawkes :: Mon, 24/01/2011 - 15:39

Building icon

Searching for happiness around the bend

Is happiness U-shaped? Everywhere but in the US, it seems.
 

Nigel Hawkes :: Tue, 11/01/2011 - 18:13

Pie Chart

Much ado about New York abortions

Anti-abortion campaigners in New York have recently been shocked by the discovery that 41 per cent of pregnancies in the city end in terminations.

Nigel Hawkes :: Mon, 20/12/2010 - 16:39

Pie Chart

Miscalculating New York City's bedrooms

Statistics can give a story an air of conviction – but they had better be the right ones, as this cautionary