Directors and Council

Straight Statistics is run by a board of directors, comprising:

Lord Lipsey (Chairman)

Nigel Hawkes (Director)

Sabrina Sandrasagra (Secretary) 

Professor Sheila Bird, MRC Biostatistics Unit, Cambridge

Simon Briscoe, Vice-President, Product, at Timetric

Dr Ben Goldacre, Guardian columnist and author of Bad Science

Peter Kellner, journalist, political commentator and President of YouGov

Martin Moore, Director, Media Standards Trust

Professor David Spiegelhalter, Winton Professor of the Public Understanding of Risk, University of Cambridge


It is guided by a Council comprising:

Frances Cairncross, Rector of Exeter College, Oxford

Robert Chote

Gavyn Davies, Chairman of Fulcrum Asset Management

Andrew Dilnot, Principal of St Hugh's College,Oxford

Sir John Gieve

Lord Jenkin, cabinet minister 1979-85, President of the Foundation for Science and Technology

Lord Moser, head of the Government Statistical service, 1967-78

Anthony Travers, Director of the Greater London Group at London School of Economics

Colette Bowe, Chair of Ofcom

Peter Riddell, Assistant Editor of The Times since 1991

David Smith, Economics Editor, The Sunday Times